Four Freedoms Speech

The Four Freedoms Speech was given by Franklin D. Roosevelt on January 6, 1941. The Speeches purpose was to look forward into founding a world upon four essential human freedoms.

  1. Freedom of speech
  2. Freedom of worship
  3. Freedom from want
  4. Freedom from fear

The speech also established what would become the ideological basis for America’s involvement in WWII. The first freedom is of speech and expression everywhere in the world. The freedom of worship is to let anyone adore God in any way everywhere in the world. Freedom from want means economic understandings which will secure to every nation a healthy peacetime life for its inhabitants everywhere in the world. Finally, the last freedom is from fear which means a world-wide reduction of armaments to a point and thorough fashion that no nation will be in a position to commit an act of physical aggression against any neighbor. In other words live in a peaceful way. 

Categories: Government | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Four Freedoms Speech

  1. Oh to have freedom from want 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: